The Sun

I am a fan of what one of my friends once called “epic music.” The kind of music that drives the emotion in a TV episode or makes the hero’s every action seem inhumanly awesome. Movie soundtracks are a great source of this type of music, but I often find that the music featured in the trailer for the movie, the track that makes the story sound larger than life and makes me hunger to see it, usually isn’t actually from the soundtrack. I would scour the internet trying to find out where that music came from so I could add it to my collection. Here’s a great example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YP1QHVNHMAE  Now, this piece of music had a bit of an unfair advantage in competing for my attention… it appeared in a trailer for Star Trek – one of my favourite TV/Movie franchises ever. Following that musical group introduced me to one of their composers, Thomas Bergersen. Recently, he released an album titled Sun. I quickly bought it and have been enjoying the rich orchestral music in my car on the way to and from work. One morning, I found myself thinking, “Listening to the ‘right’ music can almost feel like a religious experience.” Though I knew what I meant and no one else could hear my thoughts, I felt self-conscious. Mainly because, earlier, I had read the booklet that came with the album in which the composer said this: “The inspiration for Sun came, probably not surprisingly, from the sun itself. Sun gives life, it vitalizes, energizes, comforts and heals. We are able to sustain because of it, and so I think we owe this giant ball of fire more than a nod of appreciation. Since I am far better with musical notes than words I will let my personal hymn to the Sun do the talking.”  I felt like I had just said that I was worshiping the sun by enjoying this music so much. The notes began to feel distant and I considered changing my CD. Then I drove past a church along my route to work. They always have some sort of cute saying on their sign that they change each week. Most of them are a bit cliche so after reading them once, I ignore them. I had already read the one for that week, but I looked at it again anyway, as if just looking at a church could bring my thoughts back into proper focus. Surprisingly, it did. The sign said, “In the dark, follow the Son.” While changing sun to Son in a phrase isn’t a new trick, that morning it was exactly what I needed. I went back to enjoying the music fully, changing thoughts of the sun to thoughts of the Son.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ygOmazKtrUw

Revelation 21:23-24  “The city does not need the sun or the moon to shine on it, because God’s glory illuminates it, and its lamp is the Lamb. The nations will walk in its light, and the kings of the earth will bring their glory into it.”

Leave a Reply

