The 100th Time Around

I’m a rewatcher. I get in the mood for a particular show or movie and I’ll just watch it over and over. Not too long ago, if you had walked into my house and found that the tv wasn’t playing an episode of Criminal Minds, there was a good bet I was sleeping. I would finish one DVD in the set, get up and put the next one in. Most of the time it was just background noise to whatever else I was doing, but I was paying enough attention to look up at my favourite parts or mouth the dialogue along with the actors. I’ve done the same thing with the most recent Star Trek movies, the Harry Potter movies, and the tv show Almost Human. To many, this probably sounds insane, boring, or stupid. I’ve only met a few other people who are obsessive like this.

I’m also a rereader. I have favourite books that I’ve read so many times I can tell when certain parts of the story are coming. In some of the books I can find a particular passage without a page number or bookmark simply because I know how far through the book it appears.

So why, when a devotional asks me to read a familiar passage of the Bible, do I have to fight to keep myself from skimming through it? Why do I read the first couple of words, or see the paragraph heading and think, “Oh, right, this verse again”? It is a bad habit I have to really work at to break. I haven’t gotten there, yet.  If only I obsessed about the Word like I do about tv and movies. If only I relished the familiarity of those pages like I do “All Creatures Great and Small” and “Starship Troopers”. How different would I be?

Deuteronomy 11:18-19 “Imprint these words of mine on your hearts and minds, bind them as a sign on your hands, and let them be a symbol on your foreheads. Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit in your house and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.”

One thought on “The 100th Time Around

Leave a Reply

