The Important Questions

This morning when I was driving to work, I was listening to the lovely soundtrack to The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, the first of the most recent movie adaptations of CS Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia. Listening to the deep tones of danger and the dancing notes of wonder, I asked myself a very important question – which classic fantasy realm would I rather live in: Narnia or Middle Earth? My very quick response was Narnia. But why? I do thoroughly enjoy JRR Tolkein’s Lord of the Rings. I can totally see myself in the horse-centric culture of Rohan, but something about Narnia speaks to me more. The two fictional realms have a lot in common. Both stories have a self-important villain who seeks to conform the world to their own moods. Both stories have unlikely heroes who face the villain with more courage than anyone would believe they had. Both lands fall into a brutal war. And both stories end with victory for the heroes. But while Middle Earth seems like the kind of place you could have a good life, Narnia feels to me like the kind of place where dreams could be fulfilled. It has a bit more brightness – more hope.

I then turned the question to the Science Fiction realm. Would I like to live in the Star Wars universe or the Star Trek universe? Again, the answer was easy: Star Trek. I’ve always been more of a Trekkie, but that wasn’t the whole reason. Again, both realms have similarities. There are alien cultures I like, and some I don’t. There are planets full of happy people and planets ruined by war. But to me, the Star Wars universe seems like a place where you might have a good life, but the Star Trek universe seems geared toward fulfillment. It is about wonder and discovery.

I arrived at work and was brought back from my daydreams about fictional worlds into the real world. I have a good job, doing what I’ve always wanted to do. I have a home, pets, and food on the table. And yet, I still dream. Some dreams can be fulfilled here, but many are unrealistic. Earth is a place where I can have a good life. But Heaven is where dreams will be fulfilled. It won’t be what some believe it will be: a place where their every desire and every loved thing from Earth will surround them for eternity. It will be a place where dreams so wonderful we can’t even comprehend them will be real. Desires we don’t even know we have will be met. And all of it will be filled with the eternal presence of God and the light of Jesus.

 

Leave a Reply

