The Common Question

When people find out that I’m a zookeeper, one of their first questions is “What is your favourite animal?” I usually say that it is too hard to choose, but really I mean “I have so many I don’t want to overwhelm you.” Red Pandas, African Penguins, and Purple Throated Fruit Crows sit near the top of the list but I could go on for a while about many others. But one question I don’t believe I’ve ever been asked is “What is your least favourite animal?” For one, it isn’t a common question like the reverse of it is. For another, I think most people assume that zookeepers love all animals. While that is true in a sense, there are species I have little interest in working with: venomous snakes, most insects, sharks, eels. Again, the list could go on, and I bet if it did, I would surprise you with a few of the entries. Perhaps the most shocking to people is that I don’t really like dogs.

Yep, you read that right. Dogs. They’re everywhere. Most of my coworkers have one or want one.. or twelve. They’re seen as friendly, devoted, loving, funny, and cute. I just don’t get it. It isn’t that I’m afraid of them, though I have a healthy respect for what a dog can do in the wrong circumstances. I just have a deep seated, visceral aversion to them. I can’t really explain it and it seems I can’t really change it, though I have tried. At home, I much prefer the company of cats. Dog people tend to see them as aloof, useless, and grumpy but I love my two fur balls.

I’m thankful that God doesn’t keep a list of “least favourites.” He loves every person. And He isn’t just like Santa Claus with a job to do that includes loving people. He doesn’t give good things to those He loves and skip over those He doesn’t. He doesn’t keep a list of naughty people and a list of nice people. It may seem like He does when the Bible says that there is a special book and if your name is in it, you get to live with Him forever. That book is a list of those who accept His ultimate Love and leaves out those who reject Him. If I were writing that list, it would be biased and constantly changing. But God created us to be loved by Him and glorify Him in return. He wants all of us to choose to have our names written in the Lamb’s Book of Life. My name is written in there, and, because of His grace, I couldn’t erase it if I tried.

Leave a Reply

