The Difference

Today, my coworker and I were talking about animal care work being the type of job that you persue because it is “your passion.” So many zookeepers will say that. But then my coworker, who is fairly new to zookeeping, asked me if the passion stays or if it just becomes work after a while. After thinking for a second, I told her about how I used to write all the time. I had so many notebooks and journals with the beginnings of stories scribbled on page after page. Writing has been my longest running hobby and one that I often thought I could persue, if not as a profession, then as something in addition to my job. I continued to write all the way through college and even after I started working, but in the last few years I’ve left it almost completely behind. Sure some of it had to do with life circumstances and changing preferences, but I really believe that a big part of why I lost the urge to write was because I made it more like work. I started taking writing courses, bought books on how to get published, and tried to write with the goal of having lots of people read my words. My hobby was moving into the job realm and it became work. 

Something about my job as a zookeeper is different. I’m not one of those people who quote the adage “If you love what you do, you never work a day in your life.” I’ve had bad days and things about my job that I certainly didn’t like. But overall, I can’t imagine doing anything else. My coworker asked what the difference was. I thought and finally said that the difference was in writing being something I did, while my passion for animals was simply a part of me. My parents tell stories of me as a toddler asking them to catch squirrels so I could hold them. I didn’t develop a love of animals. It was just in me. That was the difference.

As I drove into my church parking lot for Sunday night Bible study tonight, I read the sign out front that asked passers-by, “Do you have a religion or a relationship?” It made me think back to my conversation with my coworker and the difference between a hobby and a passion. When Jesus was on earth, He had many encounters with Pharisees, strict followers of the Jewish Law. Their lives were totally focused on what they did and how it related to their religion. Jesus wanted them to know that His way, the only true way to be right with God, was so much easier. In Matthew 11:28-30, Jesus says, “Come to Me, all of you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. All of you, take up My yoke and learn from Me, because I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for yourselves. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” I used to think these verses were about Jesus carrying our burdens, but I heard the true meaning explained once. Jesus was telling people who were so used to carrying the burden of following the Law that they could drop that load and take up the bundle He offered in exchange. It was a whole lot lighter because it only had one directive to follow: trust in Him. It wasn’t a list of things to do, but a call to a relationship. 

I have friends who have told me that the way of grace is too easy, that there has to be something they need to do. I am thankful that God allowed me to avoid carrying that burden. I was blessed to grow up in a strong Christian home where grace was taught to me since the day I was born. I was so young when I accepted Jesus’ salvation that I don’t remember what it is like to live without Him. Sure, there are bad days and things I come up against that I certainly don’t like. But overall, I can’t imagine living any other way. He is simply part of me. 

Leave a Reply

