The Gap

I must apologize for my silence on this page recently. There are two – well, I was going to say “very good reasons” but the first one is actually lame – I just got lazy and didn’t write anything. The second reason is better and a bit more complicated.

For the past 12 years, I worked as a zookeeper in Memphis, TN. I don’t think I ever mentioned my location before, out of respect for the zoo’s policy on social media. I mention it now because, unfortunately, I am no longer working at the Memphis Zoo. I had a good job and liked where I was but I am a Canadian and had a work visa allowing me to work in the States. At the beginning of June, my visa was up for renewal and, due to a different interpretation of my job description, my visa request was denied. So, I was in a bit of a pickle. I had to tell my employer I wasn’t allowed to come back to work, I had to list my house for sale, and had to make my way back to Canada. Even though all of this was a shock, I felt content and fortunate. God had everything under control.

Several things made this the perfect time for all of this to happen.

1. I had recently gone from being a keeper in charge of one exhibit full time to being what is called a swing keeper – someone who is trained in several different areas and is scheduled wherever needed. This made my absence a bit easier for my boss to cover with a fellow swing keeper. It also had allowed me to emotionally step back from total involvement with one group of animals to a more general care for a large variety.

2. I had recently applied for a job in Canada. I was really hoping to get that job, so I was already emotionally preparing to leave Memphis. Sadly, I didn’t get that job but I am still looking with a knowledge that God will put me where He needs me.

3. My house sold very quickly. Over the last several years, I had been doing some upgrades on the house, functional and cosmetic, so that helped. Also, the market in Memphis was primed for a quick sale.

4. This one is the most important. My very supportive parents were able to help me sort everything out and helped me move back home. I would have had a very difficult time if I had to do all of that without their advice, support, and assistance.

I hope that explains the long gap between blogs. I also hope that it helps someone see that your whole life can turn upside down and God keeps your world turning. I’m still in limbo between jobs, but at least I know I’m not stuck in it. God has a plan. I just don’t know what it is yet.

For I know the plans I have for you”-this is the Lord’s declaration-“plans for your welfare, not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

One thought on “The Gap

  1. We miss you at TVBC sweet lady. Keep the faith and God will put you where you belong in His perfect timing. Until then, enjoy being back home with your family that loves you.
    Angela

Leave a Reply

